Flights to Bolivia …

So I’m on my last flight … and the destination, Bolivia. Today started at 4:30am in Vancouver. My mom, dad and I drove to the airport to be around 3 hours early for my flight. This was probably one of the hardest things I have ever had to do … saying goodbye to my parents was well, emotional. But I’ll see them again very soon. I had my first flight from Vancouver to Dallas, which I was able to sleep on (Thank the Lord). Then I went from Dallas to Miami. The Dallas airport was pretty confusing and I get lost twice but eventually found my gate with plenty of time to spare. I also met a very lovely women in the Dallas airport who was a part of one of the Rotary Clubs in Dallas which is pretty cool. The next flight (Dallas to Miami) wasn’t actually very long but I couldn’t sleep … and it felt like it went on forever! Finally I got off in Miami and it was 9:45pm and 15mins later I boarded the plane that is currently taking me to Bolivia. This is all getting SO exciting. Today is the day. Not tomorrow. Not yesterday. Today. And I only get this day once so I’m going to try and make it as amazing and wonderful as I can. My nerves are gone at the moment. I’m very relaxed which is nice considering it’s been go, go, go, go all day. I will update everyone as soon as I can … Its time for a little sleep.

Okay so I woke up to snow! In La Paz Bolivia. I couldn’t believe it. Because of the snow I can’t really see much … all I see is white windows haha. And now we have to wait for the runway to be cleared off … so the waiting game begins. Everyone is speaking Spanish around me and it’s so crazy! The only words I’m understanding so far are: Good Morning, thank-you, please, yes, no, and water. The rest is just like a run on of beautiful sounds. I don’t feel like I’m fully awake yet, hopefully that changes by the time I get to Santa Cruz :P. I can tell the difference in the air even from inside the plane, it’s making me a little light headed. Which is making concentrating on writing this a little difficult. With that said I’m going to put away my computer and keep waiting haha.

First Blog from Bolivia (feels really good to say that)

Okay so I thought that this next blog would be from Santa Cruz … but I also thought I’d be in Santa Cruz by now. It currently 9am here and we still haven’t left La Paz and we’re just sitting here on the plane waiting. The view is beautiful which is nice! We are for sure playing the waiting game. I honestly have no idea when we’ll be flying out of La Paz … but hopefully it’s very soon (crossing my fingers … and arms and legs and eyes). Yeah good part of my first day in Bolivia may be spent sitting in this lovely plane… Sigh…. I hope my host family doesn’t have to sit at the airport for tooooo much longer. They’re passing out snacks on the plane now so I’m going to stop and hopefully be updating you all tonight from Bolivia!

Kate

1 thought on “Flights to Bolivia …

Leave a comment